Skip to content

Frye F***ing Cheap!

March 31, 2010

I was sitting in Washington Square Park today waiting to get some lunch when I looked down and realized I never spread the delight of my footwear to the readers of EBT. Almost two weeks ago I was in No Relation with one of my best friends, Laura, and she happened to find what I had been looking for forever: black motorcycle boots. But not just any black motorcycle boots, these were Frye black motorcycle boots in exactly my size. They were only slightly worn, but aside from some slight damage(that will cost next to nothing to be fixed) on one side, were in great condition. These boots retail for about $300, I got them for $30. It was one of the biggest “successory” events in recent history. It goes to show you that patience, and bringing a friend with eagle eyes along to the vintage store can change your life.

Some thrifting tips so you too can hopefully find the successory of your dreams:

1. Be prepared. Set aside time, bring a snack and a water bottle. If you have allergies, take a non-drowsy pill, there will be lots of dust and probably mold. I’m serious about this, it will save your life.

2. Be patient. The reason to come so prepared is that you need to DIG, which takes time. The amount of treasures I’ve found by really going through every item is impressive; trust me it pays off.

3.  Check thoroughly for stains, holes, and rips. Obviously your going to have to take things with a grain of salt, but there are times when you can miss a real BLEMISH. And that’s no good.

4. Before you check out, glean through your basket. You’ve definitely piled on way too much out of excitement and whimsical outfit ideas. Make sure you still want/need everything you picked out. Having a trusted friend glean with you is a very good idea, especially for me.

5. Be price conscious. Thrift shops are cheap but sometimes can still charge too much for certain items. Also, finding cheap treasures and loading up your basket is fun, but be careful–knocking up the bill to 50 or 60, is super easy!

Alright, I’m gonna keep rocking this boots as much as I can before it gets too hot. Happy Thrifting!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 12:11 pm

    YOU DID NOT FIND FUCKING THIRTY DOLLAR FRYES OH MY GOD

  2. April 19, 2010 6:31 am

    Hi Ez.
    I never realized that you paid only $30 for those fabulous boots. I love your vintage shopping advice. I wonder where you learned how to shop like me. Next time we visit maybe we can vintage shop together. You are one smart cookie! Check your email.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

