Skip to content

Alejandro Preview: First Impressions

June 1, 2010

Tonight, the first 18sec preview of Lady Gaga’s “Alejandro” video premiered, first on Larry King, then Perez, and then finally on Vevo.com. Like any other Little Monster I’ve been waiting anxiously for this and to be honest, after seeing the preview I think I may be more excited than I was for “Telephone”. Especially after coming from such a colorfully extravagant video, the black and white of Alejandro is refreshing, and surprising. Considering her performance on American Idol with the blood fountain, and the merchandise she’s put out so far for the single, I was expecting a very red motif with possibly a lot of Roman Catholic imagery. Granted, I’ve only seen 18seconds of the video so that may come later on, but I’m still very intrigued by–like I said before–the b&w, and also the somewhat industrial/military look. The coloring combined with Gaga’s styling can’t help but make me think of Madonna’s “Vogue”, but I kinda like that. The love story with Alejandro mixed with not just the idea of Madonna the pop star, but also the Catholic imagery of The Madonna, creates a very interesting stylistic meta-commentary. I also think that the different style in apparel (pants, of course, being a big feature), and wig further enhance this video’s statement on Gaga’s extreme versatility. In her Larry King interview tonight Gaga did not give an official release date for the full video, but we all know I will have it purchased the second it’s available and you can all find in-depth look right here on EBT.

For more Lady Gaga and Haus of Gaga updates follow me and Gaga herself on twitter @East_Block_Talk and @LadyGaga

2 Comments leave one →
  1. a b permalink
    June 2, 2010 12:02 am

    check out the man boobs in the background of the most bottom picture
    even b&w can’t cover those nasties up.

Leave a comment